Your Memory Is Who You are Now

a book insideOver the past summer, I was introduced to a fascinating development in the study on the biological functioning of the brain: Memories change every time we remember an event. When we recall a past event, we aren’t recalling it back to its origin, but, in fact, we’re recalling the last the last time that we recalled that event. Click the link for the full article in Psychology today here.

“The past is a foreign country: They do things differently there,” says L.P. Hartley. This got me thinking about penning a memoir of sorts.  Therefore, I took to blogging.

The Goal:

I’m giving myself this year to write enough material to write a complete memoir that will be less of a play-by-play of the writer growing up, but instead, will paint an emotional portrait of the writer. (It feels odd speaking of myself in the third person, like peanut butter sticking to the roof of my mouth when the words come out.) I plan to post three new blog posts each week. The content will be written as straightforward first-person personal memoir, as anecdotes, and as creative non-fiction. The key word there is creative. How I will accomplish this will depend on the nature of the memoir. Check out my “about” page for more on this here.

The Experiment:

I took to blogging because, frankly, it’s a lot faster to develop an audience. I like the interaction and it keeps me focused on my writing if I know I have a schedule of posts to deliver on a weekly basis. If I do it on a weekly basis with regular feedback, I can stay focused on developing the memoir. The essays that will go into the memoir will be determined by:

  • The amount of likes for each post; and
  • The posts with the most popular or the ones that produce the most conversations

It’s going to be a full year of writing, unlike I’ve ever done, and I can only hope that this experiment will be a success. In between new writings, there will be extensive editing.

As with any experiment, it has potential to succeed or to blow up in my face. Either way, it’ll be a learning experience.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Your Memory Is Who You are Now

  1. Good luck on this journey. I wouldn’t be surprised if more memories come about in the process of re-living the past as you write this memoir. I hope Write on Edge will continue to be an inspiration for you.

  2. Good luck with the writing. It sounds like it will be a fascinating journey, and I am sure you will discover lots. LM x

  3. I’m skeptical about using the “most likes” as a gauge. I’ve found that some of my very best pieces are desolate, and others — with little depth — get much more attention. Still, input is almost always a positive!

    • I am too. I’ve noticed the same and I’ve been told the same. It is a work in progress and I know that I will have to adjust it as I learn more about how the blogging world works. 🙂 Thanks for the input!

  4. What a wonderful goal. You have me intrigued. I am now stalking you! In a friendly, blog world, I want to find out what you do way, of course. 🙂

  5. Yes, good luck! This sounds like a fun project. I wonder, what school did you go to? I graduated from a Southern CA University as well, only a literature major instead of creative writing.

Feedback and comments are welcome and encouraged

